top of page

Sore Jaw Song-By: Isabel Lee Roden


Sore Jaw Song

In a dream where

my teeth fall out one

by one

I see the boy who cannot love me.

He bends

to scoop a handful of them

off the ground.

And as they touch his skin

it’s porcelain, not bone,

I’ve left in my wake.


Did I do that?

He smiles without parting

his lips.

I do the same.

No words,

just whistling

between the ghost white

birch trees.


If I had the construction,

the obstructions it takes

to produce sound

with any sort of

recognizable structure,

I’d say “be careful,

they might break.”

Perfect, pristine

impressions of incisors

in fine china

in the palm of the hand

of the boy who cannot love me.


Does he make

the hardest pieces of me lovely?

Or did I make the world,

make myself,

make my mouth

clean and crimeless

before it touched his hands?


Is that love?

If so,

I have loved him,

tooth and nail.





75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page